hawaiian inspired tropical cake recipe - easy and fast

[Recipe] Aloha ‘Auinala Tea Cake

Take me back to Hawaii!!! ❤

(Click the link above to watch a video that summarises my 9 days in Hawaii with my exchange friends)

Aloha everyone!! Today, I was just looking through my album of pictures and reminiscing the amazing time I had in Oahu, Hawaii early March this year. If someone sees me looking through the pictures, they’ll probably think I’m crazy or in love because I’ll always be grinning to myself. This reminds me of the conversation my mum and I had before I was going to Hawaii. She jokingly and seriously told me not to fall in love in Hawaii. She watches too much TV – Don’t tell her I said that 😛 My response to my mum’s funny statement was “Don’t worry, I will fall in love with Hawaii” and I did 😉 I bet her heart skipped a beat when I said that hehehehe…..

IMG_7109

Sunset in Yokohama Bay! #ThrowBackThursday

I can’t wait for my next trip to Hawaii again!!! #Hawaii7.0

This memory inspired me to bake a Hawaiian afternoon cake. It’s not traditionally Hawaiian, I just made it up hahaha.. I was initially going to use my sister’s recipe for her Kiwi-crumble-cake but when I found pineapple and passionfruit lying around the house, I knew I had to alter the recipe 😀 I added an extra egg because I wanted it more fluffy for a cake like texture, coconut sugar for a healthier alternative (plus, coconut = tropical = hawaii) and more tropical fruits because.. why not?!

FullSizeRender (1)

I named this cake “Aloha ‘Auinala Tea Cake” because I intend to serve this cake for afternoon tea. Afternoon in Hawaiian is ‘Auinala. So Aloha ‘Auinala means good afternoon. I thought it would be fun for you to learn some Hawaiian words related to this cake too:

Good morning – Aloha awakea

Good afternoon – Aloha ‘auinala

Good night – Aloha ahiahi ia oukou

Thank you – Mahalo

Family – Ohana

Coconut – Niu

Pineapple – Hala Kahiki

Cake – pa’ipalaoa

Good food – Mea’ai Maika’i

A slice of Aloha ‘Auinala Tea Cake, drizzled with some pure maple syrup and a cup of freshly steeped tea or freshly brewed coffee

IMG_0238

Birdseye view of the cake (I used a pie tray because I couldn’t find a cake tin). The fresh pineapple slices becomes semi-dried after baking in the oven. Coupled with the heat, the macerating process also extracts juice out of the pineapple too. Adds a chewy dimension to the cake – it’s awesome!!!

Preparation time: 10 minutes

Cooking time: 50-60 minutes

Ingredients

  • 3 eggs
  • 2 cups GF self raising flour
  • 1 cup coconut sugar + 2tbsps (for pineapple)
  • 2/3 cup olive oil/rice bran oil/coconut oil
  • 4-5 kiwi (mix of green and gold), cubed
  • 1 handful of pineapple, sliced
  • 4 passionfruit
  • 1/4 cup shredded coconut

Method

  1. Preheat the oven to 180C or 350F
  2. Macerate the pineapple slices with 2 tbsps of sugar
  3. Blend eggs, flour, sugar and oil thoroughly
  4. Line the cake tin with butter and flour
  5. Fold in kiwi cubes into the batter
  6. Pour the batter into cake tin
  7. Arrange the pineapple slices and shredded coconut on the cake batter
  8. Bake for 50 mins or until the skewer comes out clean
  9. Serve with passionfruit pulp and enjoy!
IMG_7551

Haunama Bay for snorkelling #ThrowBackThursday

Tip 1: Now that I’ve tasted the cake, I would also recommend to substitute some kiwi with bananas into the cake. It will naturally sweeten the cake even more. I was tempted to try papaya cubes for fun but I wasn’t brave enough today haha

Tip 2: Don’t reduce the coconut sugar in this recipe!! 1 cup might sound alot but trust me, it’s necessary as pure coconut sugar is not as sweet as white/raw/brown sugar. Another option is to halve the amount of sugar in this recipe and use xylitol or stevia instead 🙂

Tip 3: My sister suggested custard! That would be devine if I had some. Serve some custard with the cake to add a smooth dimension. If it was me, I would be eating custard with cake not cake with custard 😛

I can’t bring all of you to Hawaii, but I hope my previous blog posts on Hawaii and this Hawaiian-inspired cake brings you closer to Hawaii 🙂 Let me know how you go!

Xx

Generation Kitchen

Leave a Reply

