thai inspired fish cake easy recipe

[Recipe] Asian Salmon Patties (Fish cakes)

MY SERIOUSLY EASY ASIAN SALMON PATTIES (FISH CAKES)

Preparation time: 5 minutes
Cooking time: 5-10 minutes

You know how most children despise vegetables and would throw a fit when they don’t want to eat it or some cheeky ones might try sneak abit onto their sibling’s plate? That’s how I feel when I salmon is served. Before you think I should feel lucky to be able to have salmon at dinner, I am. I just can’t help but squirm. I shamefully used to overcook my salmon and drown it in any sauce because that’s the only way I would eat it. But, I’ve improved 😉 (after months of basically butchering quality fish)

Aaaannnyway, I ordered a tempura salmon with Asian slaw at Tassle (why I did that? I have no idea) and to my surprise, I really really enjoyed it. Besides it being a tempura, the flavours and textures were just spot on! It inspired me to make these Asian salmon patties or salmon fish cakes. When I got home, I ran straight to our garden and picked out the herbs I wanted to use to make these salmon patties. Thanks to my mum’s green fingers, I have plenty of fresh, home grown herbs to pick from. I don’t know what it is about picking your own herbs from your own garden but it makes the food just that little bit special and more delicious 😀

OK, back to these patties..

It turned out to be crispy on the outside, moist and slightly bouncy in the inside. The mixture of the coriander, Vietnamese mint and Thai basil complemented the flavour of salmon so so wonderfully. With a side of sweet chilli dipping sauce, it was like the fish balls I would eat when I was younger, except healthier and more delicious. I had nothing to complain about and everything to rave about. I love it and hope you love it too 🙂

10298121_1536334276586458_1847525384740542532_o

Ingredients

  • 250g salmon
  • 3 sprigs of coriander, chopped (roots too!!)
  • 5 sprigs of Vietnamese mint, chopped
  • 2 sprigs Thai basil, chopped
  • 2-3 tbsp fish sauce
  • cracked black pepper

Method

  1. Mince 3/4 of the salmon and chop the balance 1/4
  2. Mix the chopped coriander, Vietnamese mint and Thai basil into the salmon mixture
  3. Season with fish sauce and cracked black pepper, to taste
  4. Divide the salmon mixture into equal sized patties
  5. Flatten the patties and on medium heat, pan fry in olive oil
  6. Cook for 2 minutes on each side
  7. Serve hot with sweet chilli sauce
  8. Enjoy!

Xx

GK

Leave a Reply

