Beef Brisket Stew

How I miss my family.. this calls for more comfort food! So, here is another “student meal” for you.. A bowl of stew with a side of toasted sourdough bread slathered with butter! I feel like an French chef kissing the tip of my fingers ‘Magnifique’. Simple food bursting with flavours 🙂

As I’ve been in the University of Southern California for a month now, i’ve been doing more “student meals” that can be cooked in bulk and in advance. I also noticed my protein intake levels have been atrocious since I’ve been here. Carbs have become an easy back up plan when I’m hungry so I decided I need to cook up something hearty and meaty!

I only had 4 hours to prep and cook that day and it had to be done that day. It was time to work like a machine! First, I took the meat and seared it on a sizzling hot pan. While that was searing away, I sliced the garlic and onions. Then, after the meat has been seared, I sauteed the garlic and onions and cut the rest of my veges up.. you get the picture right? My mum taught me very well to maximise my time just simply by taking the time to mentally organise myself 😀

This dish is perfect for busy days or even for dinner parties. I also put ALOT more veges in here than you traditionally would but this is the best way for me to eat more veges. Perhaps a perfect solution for you and your family too? 😉 You can cook a big pot of this and divide into several frozen meals. It will be as simple as heating it up and voila, you have a healthy and hearty meal ready in minutes! 

Ingredients:

  • 650g Napoli sauce
  • 2lbs beef brisket
  • 3-4 medium carrots
  • 3 medium potatoes
  • 1 red onion
  • 1 bulb garlic
  • 1 zucchini
  • 2 red capsicums
  • 1 green chilli pepper
  • 3 stalks of celery
  • 2 tomatoes
  • Cayenne pepper
  • Black pepper
  • Himalayan salt
  • 2 bay leaves

Method:

  1. On a hot pan of olive oil, sear the chunk of brisket until it is golden brown. Cut into thumb size pieces after it has cooled down
  2. Slice garlic and onions and sauteed until almost golden brown
  3. While the garlic and onions are being sauteed, cut the rest of the vegetables
  4. Add the carrots, celery, green chilli peppers, bay leaves and beef brisket into the pot. Allow the flavours to mix together and enjoy the concoction of beautiful flavours all in a pot. You can omit the green chilli peppers if you are sensitive to spicyness
  5. Add the napoli sauce and season with cayenne pepper, black pepper and abit of salt. Continue cooking for 2-3 hours
  6. Add the chopped potatoes into the pot to thicken the sauce
  7. When the meat is tender, add the rest of the vegetables until semi-cooked. Season with cayenne pepper, black pepper and salt to taste
  8. Enjoy!

Xx

Generation Kitchen

Leave a Reply

